ALERT

In observance of US Thanksgiving holiday, Agilent Cross Lab iLab Operations Software will be closed during US hours on Thursday November 23rd and Friday November 24th, 2017. EU and APAC support coverage will remain open during this time. We will resume US support hours on Monday November 27th, 2017. For urgent matters, please add "URGENT" to the ticket subject and these requests will be prioritized first.

Cardiovascular Research Core

Overview of Services

Cardiovascular diseases (CVD) such as heart disease, heart failure, and stroke remain the number one cause of death in the U.S. for both men and women. CVD affect Delawareans at a rate significantly above the national average. According to the American Heart Association (1), Delaware is not even in the top half (i.e., better half) of states for coronary heart disease (CHD) age-adjusted death rates. More troubling is that Delaware ranks 39th of 50 states in CHD mortality for women. Hypertension rates are similarly worse than the national averages. CVD such as CHD are largely preventable, and is related to risk factors prevalent in the state and region such as poor diet, obesity, physical inactivity, and other modifiable behaviors.

 

Leadership

David Edwards, PhD                         Danielle Kirkman, PhD
Facility Administrator                         Facility Administrator    
Email: dge@udel.edu                        Email: dkirkman@udel.edu
Phone: 302-831-3363                        Phone: 302-831-4659



Location and hours of operation

Facility Open Hours      Location

Mon - Fri:

8AM - 4PM  

COBRE in CV Health, Research Core

550 South College Avenue, Suite 212

Newark, DE 19713

Links and Resources

Center for Cardiovascular Health Official Site

Cardiovascular Research Core Site

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Contacts

Name Role Phone Email Location
Wendy Nichols BSN RN
Research Nurse
 
(302) 831-3973
 
wnichols@udel.edu
 
COBRE Core Area - STAR Campus
 
Jenna Octavio
Research Associate
 
(302) 831-3973
 
joctavio@udel.edu
 
COBRE Core Area - STAR Campus
 
Matthew Overstreet
Research Technician
 
(302) 831-3973
 
mattover@udel.edu
 
COBRE Core Area - STAR Campus
 

Members at The Delaware Vermont iLab Network (DEVIN)

Delaware State University

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Oscar Imaging Facility Michael Moore mmoore@desu.edu 302-857-7035

Nemours

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Cell Science Core Lisa Glazewski, MS CellScienceCore@Nemours.org (302) 651-6707
HTS and Drug Discovery Sigrid Langhans langhans@nemoursresearch.org (302) 651-6538
Healthcare Delivery Science Jennifer Christofferson jennifer.christofferson@nemours.org 302-298-7876
Histochemistry and Tissue Processing Core Histochemistry and Tissue Processing Core 1600 Rockland Road, Wilmington DE 19803
Translational Neuroimaging Core Shaohui (Shao) Zhang, PhD Shaohui.Zhang@nemours.org 302-651-6869
Biomolecular Core Laboratory Jennifer Holbrook mbcore@nemours.org 302-651-6824 Fax: 302-651-6767

University of Delaware

Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Cardiovascular Research Core

<p>&nbsp;</p> <p><object id="__symantecPKIClientMessenger" style="display: none;" data-install-updates-user-configuration="true" data-supports-flavor-configuration="true" data-extension-version="0.5.0.161"></object></p>

Wendy Nichols BSN RN wnichols@udel.edu (302) 831-3973
University of Delaware DNA Sequencing & Genotyping Center

Bruce Kingham brucek@udel.edu (302) 831-0823
Core Name Primary Contact Email Phone Number/Ext
Bioinformatics Core

Dr. Bryan Ballif bryan.ballif@uvm.edu (802) 656-1389
Proteomics Facility

Dr. Ying Wai Lam Ying-Wai.Lam@uvm.edu (802) 656-4709